Dog Read Ender’s Game (A Gamer’s Perspective)

A year ago I had found Ender’s Game in a used book shop. So I bought it.

I didn’t start reading it, however, until a few days ago, and I thought I should read the original before I went and saw the movie.

Ender’s game is about the story of a kid who plays Sins of a Solar Empire and Laser Tag, so for me it’s a story I can really relate to. (‘cept he got to play zero-G laser tag with locational damage, lucky). I don’t know how Orson Scott Card knew about SoSE in the ’80’s, but it’s a pretty good story (really, like you thought I was gonna say it wasnt).

Really though, it’s a very thoughtful book, and describes the tactics of space combat, both on the level of people and on the level of fleets, and being a MoO/Total War/SoSE/ArmA/Silent Hunter/Joint Ops/Wargame/Dawn of War/Homeworld/Fruit Ninja player, that’s an aspect I really appreciate, along with the social aspects of the book, such as beating the *bwoop* out of other kids in zero gravity.

Seriously though, it’s a book that’s thoroughly thoughtful on the many aspects that affect someone’s mind and thought process and how it is possible for someone to be broken, and I think that in the same way that Hunger Games is, you can get as little (maybe just the love stories) or as much (MASTER OF ORION THIS *pew pew pew pew pew pew*) as you’d like out of the book, it doesn’t just have one simple moral of the story, but perhaps many.

From what I’ve heard — although I’ve tried not to hear too much to spoil anything — the movie has a few key differences in the way the story is told, and some aspects that are altered with certain characters. Either way I’m excited to see it, the pew pew from the trailer has me excited (also when they showed the aliens in the trailer I instinctively went “VASARI”) to see it.

Also, I’d like to suggest to The Mad Reviewer, who actually knows how to do book reviews, because she actually does them. Go check her out, or I’ll double-right click on you (yeah, you know what that means).

Tell me what you thought of the book or the movie, if you’ve read or watched them. Don’t spoil too much though 😉 and leave a like if you thought that this was some funny stuff. Also, please do spam your Twitter friends with links to my blog, much appreciated k thx bai (I’m joking sheesh. I won’t mind if you do though *wink wink*) and be sure to Follow (via WordPress) or Subscribe (via email) so you know when I’m doing more silly stuff.

4 responses to “Dog Read Ender’s Game (A Gamer’s Perspective)

  1. Why do people always insist on having to read the book before watching the movie. That order makes 0 sense to me. The movie is always, ALWAYS going to be more “shallow” than the book so to speak. If you watch the movie, then read the book, chance is that you will probably like both, rather than, having read the book and be annoyed that x wasn’t in the movie whilst y happened and z never happened.

    See the book as an “expansion” to the movie.

    • To me, I just like to see the original medium of a story, whether that’s a movie, book, graphic novel or game.

      I don’t expect movies to be as deep as books. I think the Catching Fire movie did a real good job of staying true to the feel of Suzanne Collins’ books, but many book movies don’t translate as closely.

      For me, I just like to see the movie counterparts to see how someone else imagines visually what the things and events look like. Books let us create our own graphics for them, so to say, so it’s interesting to see what other people might see.

      Thanks for reading, and thanks for the comment! Sorry I didn’t reply sooner, I wasn’t sure if your comment was made expecting a reply or not, but I’m giving you one either way.

  2. Pingback: New Dog House Gaming Blog Banner! | Dog House Gaming Blog

  3. Was dissapointed with the movie adaptation. I expected changes, but the movie trivializes the exact things you mention in your book review as important to the core of the story. Its more than just kids plying SoSE and zero-G laser tag, but that’s all the movie is. It tries to accomplish what the book did but fails because of time constraints, in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

