Noob Rental Review – Dragon’s Dogma

  Hello all! Welcome to the Noob Rental Review! This week I played Dragon’s Dogma. 🙂

Please humor me my friends, and watch this short video before proceeding, or listen to it in the background, if you have a moment to spare. 🙂

–> Click here please. <–

Bwa-ha-ha-ha! Now this tune will be forever burned into your memory as it is mine! Just sharing the love, man. You’re welcome. Heh heh, my poor, tormented husband has had to listen to me singing this song for days now (I really do like the song), and wanted me to tell you all that this following picture represents his feelings on the matter:

Probably with samurai instead of kittens though, but you get the idea.

I’m pretty sure he’s going to take me out if I don’t stop. But I. Can’t. Help. It…

So if you don’t hear from me next weekend, you’ll know why. 🙂

My love of Japanese theme music aside, let me start this review by saying I think I’m in love. Seriously.

The character customization is awesome, and detailed.

 

You get to customize your character, and also a main pawn who will be traveling with you. Very cool.

I’m loving the pawn system too. They’re really handy in battle, giving out tips while they help you take down enemies. I also really like that while you’re away from the game, your main pawn can go out and assist other players online, and when you come back they may have a fun little gift or tips for an upcoming quest. You can also borrow other people’s pawns to help you out too. The talking pawns can be a double-edged sword, however. Sometimes they all talk at once, or repeat the same phrases over and over again, which can be distracting and annoying.

AI in general in this game is great. Enemies will react to you climbing on them (yep, you can totally do that – and it is *awesome!*). Your main pawn even adapts to your play style. There are consequences to quest decisions, and affinity levels with NPCs. There are also a few romance options, if you like, but I have yet to get too far into that, so I can’t comment on it fairly.

Battles are really well done, aside from some re-spawning repetition. Boss battles are especially epic.

There are two big issues that bother me, and take away from what is otherwise an epic game.

My first, and biggest is saving. Always the save option with me, have you noticed? What is it with the check points and no regular save file, just for me? Perhaps I have become spoiled over the years with the freedom to go back and re-do things as many times as I’d like, until I get that trophy, or that secret item, or whatever. I want to be able to save, whenever, wherever, as many times as I like, and then – *gasp* Oh, the horror! – be able to actually load said save, and not the stupid auto save that happened thirty seconds before I died, where I’m then stuck in a situation I can’t get out of because what got me into this mess happened five minutes ago…. Not at the auto-save. No. At the point where I actually tried to save…. Before the auto-save saved over it…..

Secondly, I do not like the traveling. There is no quick travel option, aside from the rare and expensive ferrystones. The world map is big, and running back and forth gets old quickly.

Over all, I really love this game, and I will be buying it. I’m just going to have to hone my ninja skills so that I never, ever die, and never regret doing/not doing something. That way the save/auto-save issue won’t cause me to have an epic meltdown.

Definitely check it out if you love RPGs like Shadow of the Colossus, Dragon Age, and Skyrim.

For my final thoughts I leave you with this music… (At least I warned you this time, lol.) Click it. You know you want to. 🙂 –> Dirge of Cerberus theme <– Your secret is safe with me.

My Dragon’s Dogma Rating: Cash-Worthy, bordering on Epic

4 responses to “Noob Rental Review – Dragon’s Dogma

  1. Nice review. I don’t really buy games anymore because I can usually burn through 2-3 a month, and at sixty bucks a pop that adds up. But I rented this one from Blockbuster @Home and it’s kept me busy for over a week already. It’s been one of the funnest games I’ve played this year. I almost didn’t bother playing it either. I saw a bad review and the trailer looked kind of weak but one of my coworkers at Dish kept hounding me to play it. I just wish it had a deeper story.

    • Thank you Nosgoth! 🙂

      I feel your pain – it really does add up. That’s part of the reason I’m having so much fun with my reviews. Lol, now I have an excuse to rent one once a week. I’ve bought a few without renting them first and really regretted it.

      And I agree with you on the story too – there are aspects that are well thought out, but then it’ll slow down sometimes, and I can forget what exactly I need to be doing, and why. I get distracted by all the side quests. It seems to be a trade most times – either a game is awesome in the battle department but the story feels like an in-depth history of those styrofoam balls you can get at craft stores ~or~ the story is epic but the battle feels clunky or the camera gets stuck to the wall facing in some obscene direction while I’m cussing because I can’t see what I’m hitting. Insta-meltdown.

      I do have a lot of fun with this game though. 🙂

      • LMAO at your styrofoam balls line. I can agree that there’s usually a trade-off. It’s too bad we couldn’t get the storytelling and expansiveness of Skyrim with the combat and tension of Dragon’s Dogma.

        Maybe I’ll try and put both discs in at once. That should work, right?

    • Lol, I like the way you think! Skyrim was awesome – I was totally addicted to that one for a while. 🙂 I’ve heard Bioware is trying to give some of that expansiveness to the next Dragon Age. I *love* those games, so I hope they can manage it and still keep the story and character depth they had through the first two games.

Leave a Reply

