Noob Rental Review – Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon: Future Soldier

  Hello all! Welcome to the Noob Rental Review! 🙂 This week I played Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon: Future Soldier.

Well, by now you all know how fond I am of running up and smacking my enemies upside the head with whatever’s handy.

image

Always a fun option.

But I have to admit, with this one the thought never crossed my mind. And that’s really saying something. 🙂

This game has so many fun ways to rain doom upon others that I never got bored. And the controls are gamer friendly, very smooth. For example – you can pick people off with the sniper scope, stealth kill, there’s a sync shot where you can take out up to four people at once, and weapon customization is awesome.

Image Detail

My only issue with this one is that the story is just a little lacking. Maybe it’s just not my kind of story? I ended up caring more that I’d get to play with new ways of destroying people than the plot. During the first mission I kind of knew it was a revenge thing, but by the third mission I no longer knew what the purpose of any of it was. As far as I was concerned, I was rescuing this one guy, and protecting him because it meant I could learn new ways to kill people along the way. Wait…. that wasn’t supposed to be it, was it? Ermmmmm…. I forgot…. Hmmmm…. That never bodes well for a story when you’ve forgotten the premise at about three missions in. But I know it must be important! Right?! Right.

forgetfulness - Walking Through Doorways Causes You to Forget, Stupid

Other than that, this was a lot of fun to play and I will be renewing it. I may even buy it – depending on whether or not the story finally gets my attention…

I know it’s there somewhere. 🙂

My Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon: Future Soldier Rating: Cash-Worthy. This even has Epic potential, if the story picks up later.

Leave a Reply

